Skip to content

A New Opportunity at Focus Lighting!

November 1, 2010

fischerlighting

focus lighting architectural design new york

That’s right, thanks to a fortunate series of events I’m now officially the new intern at the offices of Focus Lighting in New York!

I’m really excited to get some experience in a working lighting firm to complement and reinforce what I am learning at Parsons.  I am learning a ton at Parsons, thanks to my great professors who are all working professionals as well, so this is absolutely no reflection on them or on the program at all — I’m simply a person that loves to learn.  My first day at the office was this past Friday, and from what I can tell so far, I will learn a lot from the people there, not just about lighting but about the design business as well.  When I made the decision to move to New York I never imagined that the entire city would become my classroom, but here I am!

What’s fun is that after only a day I already started finding mutual connections to people in the office; I know it’s a cliche but I have to say it: it truly is a small world.  One of the people there even went to Emerson for his undergrad, just like me!  Anyway, hopefully I’ll be able to post and comment on interesting experiences and things I am learning there, without getting too specific and breaching confidentiality agreements, personal privacy, or anything of that nature.  I do hope that Focus soon jumps on the blog/social media bandwagon with me, though, because there are certainly a lot of interesting things going on there to share.

At any rate, a huge thank you to the people who helped make this possible, especially my highly-supportive family and friends.  I’m really excited to see where this opportunity will take me, and I hope you’ll continue reading, commenting and exploring with me!

3 Comments

  1. November 1, 2010

    So cool!!
    I hope they treat you well and appreciate the AMAZING person they’ve taken on!
    Congrats, Big!!

  2. LEA PATTERSON #
    November 2, 2010

    MOZEL TAV….WHAT A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE FOR YOU RYAN…
    AND ALSO WHAT AN OPPORTUNITY FOR YOU TO EXPAND TO THE NEXT LEVEL…SOME DAY WE WILL SEE YOUR NAME IN LIGHTS AND THATS FOR SURE.

    YOU JUST TAKE CARE , BE CAREFUL AND WE LOVE YOU…
    GRANDMA AND POP POP

  3. November 10, 2010

    Hi just thought i would tell you something.. This is twice now i?ve landed on your blog in the last 3 weeks looking for completely unrelated things. Great Info! Keep up the good work.

Comments are closed.