Skip to content

My Lighting Internship in Photos

July 10, 2011

fischerlighting

Photo-journal time!

I really enjoy taking photos, and I take a lot of them while I’m working or running around town, so I thought it would be fun to share some of the various projects I have been working on as an intern at Focus Lighting so far this summer.  I’ve been working mainly on hotel and restaurant projects, assisting the designers in the office with everything from drawing lighting plans in AutoCAD, to researching and testing design ideas, to adjusting and focusing the lighting on job sites.

The photos below show some of the “mockups” I’ve built to test out some of the designer’s ideas, as well as some of the places I’ve been inside a new hotel project downtown. Take a look!

(Side note: If you’ve been following me on Twitter you may recognize some of these photos, as I usually post them online after I take them — so if you’re interested in seeing more, follow me!)

light lighting design "lighting design" architecture architectural mockup fixture test idea

One of my favorite mockups, this one was to test how well you could see certain LED products from a distance (up to 2 miles away).  I designed and built this frame for the LEDs, which we then mounted on a balcony of a penthouse near Bryant Park in midtown.  The designer then took the client far downtown to observe how visible each product was. Meanwhile, I got to enjoy the gorgeous panoramic view of southern Manhattan and the Empire State Building (five blocks away) as I switched each product on and off.

light lighting design "lighting design" architecture architectural mockup fixture test idea

This was a quick test to compare different colored dichroic glass filters on a halogen lamp. Can you see the difference?

light lighting design "lighting design" architecture architectural mockup fixture test idea

This was a test of two different LED products for backlighting a sign for a project in Times Square. Obviously, we need something bright!

light lighting design "lighting design" architecture architectural mockup fixture test idea

Okay, this one was for product research. Seriously. This bulb claimed to be shatterproof. Did it survive a direct hit from a piece of lumber? Yes … yes it did.

light lighting design "lighting design" architecture architectural mockup fixture test idea

A mockup for uplighting art pieces on a wall of a restaurant. Unfortunately we didn’t have any art on hand. We did have lots of lamps though!

light lighting design "lighting design" architecture architectural mockup fixture test idea

This PAR20 lamp is mounted at 15′ above the mockup room floor. Can you believe it’s LED?

light lighting design "lighting design" architecture architectural mockup fixture test idea

A mockup for an LED uplighting effect on shutters in a hotel room. Obviously the mini-blinds are a substitute for something much nicer.

light lighting design "lighting design" architecture architectural mockup fixture test idea

Hey there! This one isn’t a mockup, it’s a full-size elevator installed at a hotel downtown. I spent a lot of quality time with this elevator because the lighting is programmed to change colors as the cab rises. I was in charge of making sure it all worked as planned, which involved:

light lighting design "lighting design" architecture architectural mockup fixture test idea

Investigating the top of the elevator cab! We had some electronics and dimming equipment installed up there, so I had to get on top of the elevator to fix it. This was definitely a first for me, and a highlight for the week!

light lighting design "lighting design" architecture architectural mockup fixture test idea

Hey it’s dirty work sometimes, but somebody’s got to do it! Here I was working on one of the final touches for the lighting of the pool deck below. No better way to spend the summer than by a pool! … Sort of.

Now if only I could sit under one of those umbrellas with a drink that also had an umbrella in it … time to go work on a mockup for that!

Happy summer!

Comments are closed.