Skip to content

Announcement: My New Job!

August 28, 2011

fischerlighting

Big news!

I have officially accepted a job offer at Focus Lighting in New York City!  After several months spent interning there this summer, I have made the decision to take a leave of absence from the MFA Lighting Design program at Parsons the New School for Design and pursue my love of lighting with the team at Focus Lighting.  I’m really excited about the opportunity and I’m looking forward to the experience of working with such a talented group of people.  I want to send my sincere and heartfelt thanks to everyone who has helped me to get to this point (you know who you are).

focus lighting architectural design new york

My decision was based on many factors, both personal and professional, but I want to express that it should bear no reflection on the quality or my enjoyment of the Parsons MFA Lighting Design program.  I learned an incredible amount from my professors and peers at Parsons in an extremely short period of time, and while it was a lot of work, it was both a fun and rewarding experience, and I would highly recommend it to anyone seeking to learn more about the art and science of light.  I want to thank everyone at Parsons for teaching me to push my intellectual, creative, and professional boundaries and to confidently pursue my passion by any and all means.  If you are passionate about lighting and are considering the Parsons program, please feel free to ask me any questions about the program by sending me an e-mail (ryan@fischerlighting.com) — I highly recommend the program and am looking forward to seeing it grow alongside the lighting industry.

So, that being said, I want to confirm that I will continue to write here on my blog, with the disclaimer that the thoughts and opinions expressed here are only my own and not necessarily representative of the employees or business of Focus Lighting.  I am excited about the new perspectives that my work at Focus will bring to my experience of light, though, so keep checking back to see what I’m up to.  Thanks for reading!

Comments are closed.